Government restrictions in the time of the coronavirus

I’ve been struck lately how some friends/colleagues of mine who may even be on opposite sides of the political spectrum (probably, maybe, not sure) have complained online about the restrictions that government has imposed in light of the coronavirus situation. You know, forbidding or discouraging visits to bars and restaurants, closing “non-essential” businesses, closing schools, etc.

Their argument goes something like this: I’m a responsible adult. I know if going out would involve risk to myself or others. I know if I or my family members are compromised or not. I can be counted on to decide for myself what to do, and the government doesn’t have to interfere.

As a former media guy myself, and a former federal employee, I’m pretty skeptical of media hype and info from government reps. I agree that personal accountability is very important. Personally, I’ve been limiting my trips to places with lots of people and taking other measures to protect myself and others.

So in part I agree with my friends and colleagues. I believe the folks I know who are posting such arguments *are* in fact qualified to make such decisions, and I do trust them to do the right thing. But — and I don’t want to sound elitist about this — I also believe that plenty of people are too ignorant, willful, or selfish to act in ways that protect themselves and others.

So I worry. Here’s my thinking: If people could always be counted on to do the right thing, we wouldn’t need laws, or police, or a criminal justice system, right? Everybody knows that it’s wrong to murder, steal, etc. So why do we need laws on the books forbidding such things and penalties in place for people who break those laws? Because people still murder and steal and commit all kinds of horrendous crimes.

Similarly, if people knew in Biblical times what right behavior is, why did Moses have to come down from the mountain with the Ten Commandments written by the finger of God on two stone tablets? Didn’t they know that it was wrong to have false gods before them, disrespect their parents, kill, steal, commit adultery? They probably did. But they did all those things anyway.

So, yeah, I think most (maybe all) people have a built-in compass that tells them what’s the right thing to do. But some people are just selfish. Or they’re ill-informed. Or they just don’t know any better. In short, some people *cannot* be counted on to do the right thing. That’s why the federal government and state governors are imposing restrictions to keep people out of public places as much as possible and reduce the threat to themselves and others. It’s a difficult situation we’re in. But we have to watch what we’re doing. I believe Americans don’t like hardship. We don’t like to give anything up. But we need to accept some sacrifices right now. I don’t want to see any ugliness out there. I hope this situation resolves soon. I wish everyone the best in these challenging times.

Leave a comment